Bucketlist #44. Go to the cinema. Alone ✔

Standard

Going to the cinema alone is sad. At least that’s how I thought about it when I was a bit younger, going to the movies with a group of friends and looking at someone sitting there by himself.  Going to public place or events all by yourself does make people wonder whether you don’t have friends or been stood up.

Recently I began to think it might not be such a bad idea to go to the cinema by yourself. When I thought of it I can to realise I do enjoy travelling and shopping alone. No one you have to wait for or has to wait for you, you can go whenever, wherever you want..

Going to the movies alone would also be one of the the least awkward things to do alone. You can arrive late, it’s dark so noone sees you being alone anyway and the only thing you need to do is watch a movie, and let’s face it, you don’t really need company for that.

Last Wednesday I decided to try it myself. I really wanted to see the movie ‘Intouchables‘ and so I had the perfect movie to go watch by myself. I must say I was a bit nervous, not about going there alone, but more of the reactions of others. While I was waiting for the doors to the theater to open I see a couple looking my direction. Perhaps they weren’t even talking about the fact that I was alone, but still it felt like they did. Apart from them, noone really seemed to care. Maybe they thought I was waiting for my Other Half. When I looked for my seat and it became clear that noone was gonna join me, I saw some people giving me ‘the look’. Teenage boys giggling and whispering a bit, not too obvious though. At that point I stopped caring about what others might think and actually started to enjoy myself and relax. The moment the lights go off and the movie starts nothing matters anymore. We were all there to watch the movie and noone can see who is there with who. I laughed my arse off during this movie. One of the best films I’ve seen in a long time. Just too bad I have noone to share the experience with.. 😛

A rich quadriplegic, living in a mansion in Paris, requires a live-in carer. A young offender turns up for an interview, but he is not really looking to get the job. However, to his surprise, he is hired. The two men then develop a close friendship.

10 responses »

  1. The first movie I went to see by myself was The Breakup. And I was the only one in the theater. I imagined the employee who worked the projector thought I was some sad lonely girl who just went through a break up, but the truth was I thought it would be funny and had the day off work. It’s a little harder when you go at busy times, like weekends and evenings. But, like you said, when the lights go off and the movie starts, it doesn’t matter.

    • Haha I can see you sitting there all alone, the break up is not the best movie to go see by yourself I guess 😛 When I went there were a handful of people there, so not that bad. I would definitely do it again 🙂

  2. When I met my husband in college – he was such a freak to me. He did all sorts of stuff alone. Movies, meals, whatever. He loved it – still does. Now that we are married with kids – he’s taught me to enjoy it too – and now I treasure moments alone. My favorite thing to do – head to a pub and order a nice draft on my own. It’s nice. It’s brave (for me). Highly recommend it!

    • Wow going to the pub alone is pretty impressive. You need confidence for that! I’m learning more and more to do things by myself and it’s a pretty nice feeling. Maybe some day I’ll try the pub alone, one step at the time 😉

Leave a Reply

