Knitting to a whole new level

Standard

Knitting is hot. Knitting is no longer just an old granny’s way to pass the time, it’s now just a cool thing to do. Last Christmas I also got the hang of it. At least, my mum taught me the basics and I was very pleased with myself when I finished my own knitted headband. I must admit, knitting for me was more a necessity than an intrest, I was short on cash and really wanted a headband since my ears were freezing off in the cold Slovak winter. But it turns out to be fun! When I struggled at first (my fine motor skills are just crap) I started to get the hang of it and after one evening of knitting my headband was ready to take his first trip outside.

When I went outside I suddenly started to realise more people had gotten into knitting that winter. It’s funny how when you’re getting into something or learn something new it suddenly starts to appear everywhere. As well with the knitting. Not only did I realise a lot of people wore headbands and knitted hats, other things had also gotten a warm coat for the winter. Lampposts and complete walls were covered in bright knitted covers. It looked really nice and colorfull, and much nicer than the old graffiti art.

I decided to look up this phenomenon to see where this specific creative outburst came from. It turns out is has a name: Yarn Bombing.  Yarn Bombing started in 2005 in Houston, Texas. A small group called Knitta Please decided to hang their old pieces of knitwork because it would be a waste to throw out and the city would become a little brighter. The next project was in Paris and these days the whole world can enjoy colorful knitted threes, lampposts, benches and everything else that could be covered. I love it, it really makes me happy when I see it!

Bike

Knitted Mini Cooper! I want this one!

Nom Nom Nom

Stairs made by Knitta Please!

Shopping Chart

Wow, beautiful!

This looks so comfy! (When dry)

June 9 is International Yarn Bombing day. So are you good with knitting needles? Join the rest of the world by making your city a little bit more cuddly and colorful!

Are there Yarn Bombers active in your city? What did they make? 

3 responses »

  1. .I love knitting! Haven’t done it so much over the last few years, but also learnt to knit as young child, and knit myself quite a few things that I’ve actually worn! 🙂

Leave a Reply

