My Bucketlist #76. Make a Pie ✔

Standard

I’m a bit clumsy when it comes to .. eh.. everything. This is also a reason for me not to cook or bake too often, because I always manage to mess something up. My pastas are overcooked, my rice is always mushy and I always seem to put in ingredients that aren’t suppose to be in there in such big amounts. Still, I do love to cook and bake, ever since I was little I’ve been asking my mum if we could bake cookies or if I could help her cook dinner. That being said, I hate to clean up afterwards. Cooking means you’re gonna make a mess and that’s often a reason for me to just have an egg sandwich dinner.
My bucketlist has a few food-making related items and baking a pie was one of them. One of my friends invited me for her birthday barbecue this week and I decided this would be the perfect chance to cross off item nr. 76 on the bucketlist: Make a Pie. And which pie is better to make when you’re abroad than a traditional Dutch Apple Pie? My mum makes the best Apple Pie in the world, her’s is as flat as a pancake, but everyone loves it and truely misses it when she didn’t make it at one of our birthday parties. I’ve helped her make it many times, but just in case, I looked up the recipe on the internet. It’s pretty easy to make and delicious! And since my homemade brownies worked out awesomely I decided to make this pie a go. Here’s how I made it:

What do you need:
* Oven (this is a pretty crucial item for baking a pie)
* Cake tin
* Bowl (to make the dough in)
* Cups (for the apples)
* Cutting plate
* Knife

Making the dough:

* 500 gr. flour
* 300 gr.butter
* 4 eggs
* 160 gr. sugar

For the filling:
* 8 apples
* big spoon of cinnamon
* Little bit of sugar

Preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius.  Make the dough by mixing the butter, sugar, eggs and flour together. Let the dough settle for a bit.

Peel the apples and remove the cores. Then cut the apples in small cubes.

Add the cinnamon and sugar to the apples to give them more flavour.

Butter the cake tin and spread out 3/4 of the dough. Now add the apples.

Use the last bit of dough for the topping, you can do it any way you like. In Holland we usually do it as it shows on the picture.
You can put a bit of eggyolk on top of the dough to make the cake look nice and brown. Now your Apple Pie is ready for the oven for about 55 minutes.

Tadaa! Delicious apple pie! Best when a bit warm with whipped cream! 🙂

Lots of love,smiles and happiness,

Evalina

Leave a Reply

