Blood, Sweat and Luxuries

Standard
Blood, Sweat and Luxuries

Today I watched a to me new programme called Blood, Sweat and Luxuries. I watched the Dutch version, but the original is Brittish. The program shows a group of young Western people who go to a Third World country to experience where our luxuries come from. They have to work in places like goldmines, leatherfactories and coffee plantagions to earn their food and shelter.

I wouldn’t say I drink a lot of coffee, wear leather or golden juwelry, but I definitely am spoiled when it comes to wanting a warm shower, clean toilet and certain kinds of food. These people have none of those things, they work ten hours a day doing shitty hard work for no money, from childhood until they die.

When I went traveling through South East Asia I experienced a bit of it. I stayed with a Nepali family in their home and saw some of the biggest slums in India and children begging on the streets. And the worst part is, you get used to it. I don’t want to get used to it. I don’t want to get to the stage where it becomes normal to see a child dying on the street because survival of the fittest still is the norm. I hope the circustances of these people improve soon, and someday I’d like to contribute to a program like that.

I think everyone should watch this program. I think people need to know where their luxuries come from before buying them. You should be aware of the hard work and slavery that’s going on to make your products.

What do you think? Do you know where your luxuries come from?

2 responses »

  1. I don’t think this program airs in the states but it should.

    We often complain about being inconvenienced (like all of the close parking spaces being taken at the mall) but we forget that in the West, we all live very well compared to developing nations.

    Thank you for the reminder.

  2. Great sentiment to not want to get ‘used to’ children dying of hunger. It shouldn’t be like that. And I think we should at the very least, take a strong point on things like child labour, and people working 12 + hours a day for nothing.

Leave a Reply

